August 15, 2016

GREETINGS FROM THE SWEET LAND OF BRAZIL.

So this past week has probably been the hardest so far (it´s only been two kms). My companion and I got into a huge fight and our area leaders had to get involved, it was lit. My comp is just a huge tool and I gotta deal with him but that will be ok. Other than that it was pretty great!!
Culture:
So the culture here is super different, obviously, but it´s super cool. You don´t knock on doors here because that´s rude. You clap outside their house. It´s super weird but hey I gotta get used to it. Also something kinda gross and I hate is that the plumbing here is awful so you can´t throw toilet paper in the toilet so every bathroom has a garbage can where you put all the poopy paper. Needless to say all bathrooms smell dank. But that´s ok I´m getting used to it. The people here are super nice and receptive though. There have been multiple occasions where people have let us into their house, fed us, and then told us that they weren´t interested in the church. Everyone here is super nice. One really eye-opening experience I had was in a little ghetto called Parque das Aguas. It´s a very poor barrio near the city. Most of the homes are tiny and don´t have electricity or floors. (all dirt). And even though they are very poor they offer everything they have to us missionaries because we bring a message of God. My companion asked for a glass of water there one day and the woman said that she couldn´t because she needed all the water they had to make dinner. She felt very bad and started to cry. You never really know how much you have until you see something like that. It was truly an eye opening experience. Also the music here is really weird. They love music from america but it’s super late. like hotline bling is huge here rn. This guy we are teaching likes rap so I told him to listen to panda and he thinks it’s the best thing hes ever heard. If anyone asks I started the panda revolution in Brazil. Also eminem and 50 cent are the big rappers here I don´t understand. No one knows who Kanye is. OH! Here is some good Brazilian music you guys can listen to
Artist: Lucas Luco
song: Batón Vermelho
Artist: Henrique Juliano
Song: Como é que a gente fica
artist: John Quest
song: Encontrar Alguem
Enjoy!
Food: HOLY FREAKING CRAP THE FOOD HERE IS FREAKING AMAZING. So we only get fed lunch here and we have to make our own dinner and breakfast. But in Brazil it is a custom to eat Beans with Rice every meal. So lunch is usually beans, rice, a meat, lettuce, and juice. It doesn´t sound like much but holy guacamole is it tasty. They also have a bunch of different stuff that they don´t have in the US. (they might have it but I´ve never seen it). They have something called Refri de Guaraná. It´s bigger than Coca-Cola over here. ITS SO GOOD. It blows every other soda I have ever had out of the water. They also have Pão de Queijo which is just bread with cheese inside, but it is a stable food here in Minas Gerais which is the state that I am in. It´s so good. Also Açai. AÇAI IS LITERALLY THE BEST THING EVER. I know they have it in the US but its not the same. I attached a picture of it. It´s açai, banana, strawberry, chocolate, and powdered milk. It´s crazy tasty and only R$10,00, which is about $3.00 in american money. there is a bunch of stuff here that i havent tried either like Maracuja which is a fruit. I have it almost every day I love it so much.
Friends: Even though my comps a douche I thouroughly enjoy the other guys in my apartment. There are 4 of us total and they´re the best. I don´t have pictures of them but I will send some next week. They all make fun of me because I do -weird American things- like wash my hands after using the bathroom. haha. They also go crazy whenever I speak english or sing. They hate me cause apparently I´m singing all the time. they especially hate when I sing in the heights or hamilton. They all groan and tell me to die when I start singing. I think I sound pretty good so whatever. hahah. I´ve also made friends with a lot of the members of the church here. They are the best. There is this one guy Gabriel that we found on the street and started teaching him. He´s nineteen and really cool. We are hoping that he is going to get baptised within the next couple of weeks!
All in all I am loving Brazil very much. But I do miss you guys tons!! Thanks so much for the emails and the constant friendship! Also please keep me updated on the meme culture and music. Also is Hillary Clinton in prison yet? And my boy D. trump has he taken over the world? Who knows…
Anywho I love you guys and I hope everything is well!!
-Elder Alberto (Momo)
Leave a Reply

